Defending champion Argentina grouped with Chile; Brazil, Colombia in group D

In the playoffs, Argentina will play either Canada or Trinidad and Tobago on June 20, 2024.

Upcoming Copa América begins on June 20 in Atlanta against the winner of the Canada-Trinidad and Tobago playoff, and the U.S. takes on Bolivia three days later.

In addition, Argentina faces Chile at East Rutherford, New Jersey, on June 25, in a rematch of the 2016 final at MetLife Stadium, and closes Group A four days later against Peru at Miami Gardens, Florida, also the site of the final on July 14.

As a result of Thursday night’s draw, the U.S. will play Panama in Atlanta on June 27 and Uruguay in Kansas City, Missouri, on July 1.

At Inglewood, California, on June 24, Brazil will face the winner of Costa Rica-Honduras’ playoff, Paraguay at Las Vegas four days later, and Colombia at Santa Clara, California, on July 2.

The Mexican team is seeded in Group B and will face Jamaica at Houston on June 22, Venezuela at Inglewood four days later and Ecuador at Glendale, Arizona, on June 30.

In each group, the top two teams advance to the quarterfinals.

Copa America groups

Group A: Argentina, Peru, Chile, [Canada or Trinidad & Tobago]

Group B: Mexico, Ecuador, Venezuela, Jamaica

Group C: United States, Uruguay, Panama, Bolivia

Group D: Brazil, Colombia, Paraguay, Costa Rica or Honduras

Brazil has nine World Cup titles, while Argentina and Uruguay have each won 15 times. Led by Lionel Messi, Argentina won the 2021 Copa América in Brazil for its first continental title since 1993.

As part of the South American soccer governing body’s rotation, Ecuador was to host the Copa América, but declined. The event was moved to the United States and expanded to include six countries from North and Central America.

On March 23, the playoff games will determine the final two nations.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *